Richmond Workers’ Compensation Attorneys
What to Do If You Are Injured on the Job in Virginia
If you are involved in a workplace accident or suffer a job-related injury, illness, or medical condition, you could be entitled to workers’ compensation. In Virginia, workers’ compensation is a no-fault system, meaning you do not need to prove that your employer, a coworker, or anyone else was negligent in order to file a claim and seek benefits. However, in exchange, you may not sue your employer for damages.
There are several things you should do if you were injured on the job or sustained a work-related medical condition. Read on to learn more, or reach out to our Richmond workers’ compensation attorneys at Reinhardt | Harper | Davis for a free consultation regarding your legal rights and options. We are available 24/7 to take your call and can assist you in English or Spanish.
Seek Medical Attention for All Work-Related Injuries
If you were injured while carrying out any activities or duties related to your work, you may be entitled to workers’ compensation. It is important that you seek medical attention for any work-related injury, illness, or medical condition. Not only does this ensure your continued health and wellbeing, but it also establishes that your injury or condition required medical attention. This could be critical evidence for your future workers’ compensation claim.
You should always seek prompt medical attention for a work-related injury or illness, including but not limited to:
- Fall-related injuries
- Severe burns
- Broken bones
- Head injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Loss of limb
- Eye and face injuries
- Struck-by injuries
- Crush injuries
- Repetitive strain injuries
- Back and neck injuries
- Work vehicle accident injuries
- Illnesses caused by toxic exposure
- Respiratory illness
- Occupational diseases
It is also important that you follow all of your doctor’s orders, recommendations, and prescribed therapies. Failure to do so could jeopardize your workers’ compensation benefits. You should continue seeing your doctor until you have been cleared to return to work and/or have reached “maximum medical improvement” (MMI), as determined by your doctor.
Report the Injury to Your Employer
In Virginia, you must report work-related injuries and medical conditions to your employer within 30 days. If you fail to do so, you may lose your right to file for workers’ compensation.
Although you have 30 days to notify your employer about your workplace injury or occupational illness, we strongly recommend that you report the injury or illness as soon as possible. Once you have notified your employer in writing, they have 10 days to submit a “First Report of Injury” to the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission. This starts your workers’ compensation claim. Note that you may also file a workers’ compensation claim yourself; in Virginia, you have two years to file a workers’ compensation claim. Once this statute of limitations has expired, you will almost certainly lose your right to recover workers’ compensation benefits.
Contact a Workers’ Compensation Attorney
It is a good idea to reach out to a skilled workers’ compensation attorney, like ours at Reinhardt | Harper | Davis, for help with your claim. When you work with an attorney from the beginning, you set yourself up for the best possible chance of success. Our Richmond workers’ compensation lawyers can help ensure that you do not make any mistakes on your claim or during the initial process that could jeopardize your benefits.
Depending on the specifics of your case, we can help you seek the following workers’ compensation benefits after a qualifying injury or illness:
- Medical benefits, including compensation for all reasonable and necessary medical expenses related to your workplace injury or occupational disease
- Reimbursement for mileage/transportation costs to and from medical appointments
- Wage replacement due to temporary total disability (TTD) and/or temporary partial disability (TPD) if you are totally or partially unable to work due to your injury or illness
- Permanent disability benefits for permanent partial or total disability, based on your impairment rating after maximum medical improvement
If your spouse or parent died due to a fatal workplace incident or a work-related injury, illness, or medical condition, you may also qualify for wage replacement benefits and reimbursement for funeral expenses. Our team can review the specific details of your case and help you fully understand your legal rights and options during a no-cost, no-obligation consultation.
At Reinhardt | Harper | Davis, we know how important it is that you receive the full benefits you are owed. If your employer is disputing your injuries, or if their workers’ compensation insurance provider has denied your claim, our team is ready to fight back. We have over a century of combined legal experience and a long, proven track record of success in workers’ compensation law. Our firm was responsible for the four largest workers’ compensation cases in Virginia—find out how we can help you with your case today.